How Macedonia voted for FIFA Ballon d’Or award

Every football association in the world votes for the prestigious FIFA Ballon d’Or award. Here is how Macedonia voted:

As part of the voting process, the manager and captain of each national team recognized by FIFA is given a vote. For Macedonia those votes were cast by manager Boshko Gjurovski and captain Tome Pachovski.

Each voter gives 5 points to his top choice for the Ballon d’Or, 3 points for his second choice and 1 point for his third choice. Gjurovski gave 5 points to Germany keeper Manuel Neuer, 3 points to Netherlands winger Arjen Robben and 1 point to Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo.

Gjurovski gave his 5 points to Neuer

Meanwhile, Pachovski gave 5 points to Cristiano Ronaldo, 3 points to Manuel Neuer and 1 point to Belgian winger Eden Hazard.

Pachovski, now at Vardar, voted for the eventual winner

Interestingly, neither Gjurovski nor Pachovski gave a single vote to Argentine player Lionel Messi. The eventual winner of the 2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or was Cristiano Ronaldo, the star of Real Madrid and Portugal’s national team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *