The most famous and longest living friendly tournament in Macedonia is the annual Vuko Karov tournament held in Kavadarci. Its inaugural edition was in 1993 and since that it has regularly taken place with few interruptions.

The tournament is named after footballer Vuko Karov, the best in the history of GFK Tikvesh who later even served as club president. It is held in his honor. Usually it takes place before the start of the second half season, in late January, February or early March. The 2019 edition is for the first held during the summer, taking place at the Ilinden holiday.

NOTE: For detailed info of each edition click on the year!

edition year winner runner-up third
I 1993 Macedonia Vardar Macedonia Tikvesh Austria SAK
II 1994 Macedonia Pobeda (P) Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Vardar
III 1995 Macedonia Osogovo Macedonia Sileks Macedonia Tikvesh
IV 1996 Macedonia Sileks  Čukarički Macedonia Sloga Jugomagnat
V 1997 Macedonia Sileks Macedonia Tikvesh  Čukarički
VI 1998  Partizan Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Vardar
VII 1999 Macedonia Vardar Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Sloga Jugomagnat
VIII 2000 Macedonia Pobeda (P)  Partizan Bulgaria Pirin (B)
IX 2001 Macedonia Pobeda (P)  Teleoptik Macedonia Osogovo
X 2002 Macedonia Pobeda (P) Macedonia Tikvesh  Teleoptik
XI 2003  Budućnost (BD) Macedonia Napredok  Teleoptik
2004 cancelled*
2005 not held
XII 2006 Macedonia Vardar Macedonia Kozhuf Macedonia Tikvesh
2007 not held
XIII 2010 Macedonia Sileks Macedonia Renova Macedonia Tikvesh
XIV 2011 Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Vardar Macedonia Pelister
XV 2012 Bulgaria Vihren Macedonia Sileks Macedonia Tikvesh
2013 not held
2014 only a symbolic match took place
XVI 2015 Macedonia Horizont Macedonia Pobeda Macedonia Tikvesh
XVII 2016 Macedonia Pobeda Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Ljubanci
XVIII 2017 Macedonia Pobeda Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Borec
XIX 2018 Macedonia Gorno Lisiche Macedonia Tikvesh Macedonia Teteks
XX 2019 Macedonia Belasica Macedonia Rabotnichki Macedonia Tikvesh
2020 not held due to COVID-19 pandemic
XXI 2021

*the 2004 edition was cancelled due to the tragic death of Macedonian President Boris Trajkovski who was killed in a plane crash two days before the start of the tournament. All sporting event were cancelled.


4 – Macedonia Pobeda (P)
3 – Macedonia Sileks, Macedonia Vardar
2 – Macedonia Pobeda
1 – Macedonia Belasica, Serbia Budućnost (BD), Macedonia Gorno Lisiche, Macedonia Horizont, Macedonia Osogovo, Serbia Partizan, Macedonia Tikvesh, Bulgaria Vihren


20 – Macedonia Tikvesh
7 – Macedonia Pobeda (P), Macedonia Vardar
6 – Macedonia Sileks
4 – Macedonia Pobeda
3 – Macedonia Osogovo, Serbia Teleoptik
2 – Serbia Čukarički, Macedonia Kozhuf, Macedonia Napredok, Serbia Partizan, Macedonia Pelister, Macedonia Sloga Jugomagnat
1 – Macedonia Belasica, Bosnia and Herzegovina Borac (BL), Macedonia Borec, Serbia Budućnost (BD), Bulgaria Dobrudzha, Serbia Donji Srem, Macedonia Gorno Lisiche, Macedonia Horizont, Macedonia Ljubanci, Macedonia Makedonija, Macedonia Metalurg, Bulgaria Pirin (B), Bulgaria Pirin (GD), Macedonia Rabotnichki, Macedonia Renova, Austria SAK, Bosnia and Herzegovina Sloboda, Macedonia Teteks, Macedonia Vardar (N), Bulgaria Vihren