Macedonia before the Spain qualifier; photo: FFM

Macedonian squad for October qualifiers revealed

Macedonia before the Spain qualifier; photo: FFMManager Boshko Gjurovski unveiled a list of 23 players for the upcoming two EURO 2016 qualifiers against Luxembourg and Ukraine.

After the 5:1 road defeat by Spain in the opening round, Macedonia will continue the EURO 2016 qualifiers first with a home game against Luxembourg and three days later will travel to Ukraine. A must win in the first game and a chance for the team to show if it is really capable of doing something in this group with a good result in the second.

Gjurovski made few changes from the squad that faced Spain. Keeper Tofiloski is eventually summoned as well as Efremov who brought his attention with his good performances for Metalurg in the domestic league. Velkovski, who was later added to the squad for the Spain match, is summoned again, while Muarem and Gligorov were called up after their great club performances this period. Ivanovski is back in the squad after he wasn’t called up since the Latvia friendly in March. This will be the third chance for Ademi to make his debut since he switched for Macedonia from Croatia as injuries prevented his to do that at the Spain qualifier and in June friendlies. Ferhan Hasani is out with an injury, while Aleksandar Todorovski and Ezgjan Alioski didn’t receive a call.

The complete squad:

Andreja Efremov – Metalurg Macedonia
Darko Tofiloski – Košice Slovakia
Tome Pachovski – Mechelen Belgium

Aleksandar Damchevski – NAC Breda Netherlands
Ardian Cuculi – Partizani Albania
Daniel Mojsov – Brann Norway
Darko Glisikj – Vardar Macedonia
Darko Velkovski – Rabotnichki Macedonia
Stefan Ristovski – Parma Italy
Vanche Shikov – Austria Wien alt

Aleksandar Trajkovski – Zulte Waregem Belgium
Arijan Ademi – Dinamo Zagreb Croatia
Marjan Radeski – Metalurg Macedonia
Muarem Muarem – Qarabağ Azerbaijan
Muhamed Demiri – St. Gallen Switzerland
Nikola Gligorov – Vardar Macedonia
Stefan Spirovski – Beroe Bulgaria

Adis JahovikjKrylia Sovetov Russia
Agim Ibraimi
– Maribor Slovenia
Besart Abdurahimi – Lokeren Belgium
Jovan Kostovski – OH Leuven Belgium
Krste Velkoski – Sarajevo Bosnia-Herzegovina
Mirko Ivanovski – Cluj Romania

Macedonian hosts Luxembourg on 9 Octobet at 20.45 CET at the National Arena Philip II of Macedon in Skopje, while on the 12th at 18.00 CET faces Ukraine at the Arena Lviv in Lviv.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *