Israel announces squad

The Israely team before the opening qualifier against Italy; photo: IFAIsraeli national team coach Elisha Levy released a 23 player squad list for the upcoming WC qualifiers against Macedonia and Liechtenstein.

Israel travels to Skopje to face Macedonia on the 6th of October at the National Arena Philip II of Macedon so for that occasion national team coach Elisha Levy decided to summon 23 players as three days later Israel will have another game in hosting Liechtenstein.

The squad is mostly with domestic based players with only 9 who play abroad among which the most familiar name, Eran Zahavi of Chinese side Guangzhou. Three players in Einbinder, Vered and Abed will hope to make their national team debut. From the team that faced Italy, out because of an injury is only central midfielder Beram Kayal. Interestingly, Ahmed Abed is the only Arab player in the Israeli squad, something that rarely happens.

Ariel Harush – Hapoel Tel Aviv Israel
David Goresh – Hapoel Be’er Sheva Israel
Boris Klaiman – Beitar Israel

Eli Dasa – Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel
Ofir Davidzada – Gent Belgium
Rami Gershon – Gent Belgium
Shir Tzedek – Hapoel Be’er Sheva Israel
Eitan Tibi – Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel
Ben Bitton – Hapoel Be’er Sheva Israel
Omri Ben Harush – Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel

Nir Bitton – Celtic Scotland
Eran Zahavi – Guangzhou China
Dan Einbinder – Beitar Israel
Idan Vered – Beitar Israel
Omer Atzili – Granada
Roi Kahat – Maccabi Haifa Israel
Eyal Golasa – Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel
Maor Buzaglo – Hapoel Be’er Sheva Israel
Almog Cohen – Ingolstadt Germany

Moanes Dabour – Salzburg Austria
Tomer Hemed – Brighton & Hove Albion England
Tal Ben Haim II – Maccabi Tel Aviv Israel
Ahmed Abed – Ironi Kiryat Shmona Israel

Israel and Macedonia so far have met 3 times, all ending with a defeat for Macedonia. Two games were part of the 2008 EURO qualifiers, while one was a friendly game in Skopje. To check those reports, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *