Drulović unveils first squad as Macedonia coach

Drulović during today's press-conference; photo: FFMLjubinko Drulović announced the list of players for the upcoming EURO 2016 qualifier against Slovakia on June 14.

At his introductory press conference, Ljubinko Drulović called left back the most problematic position. He wasn’t kidding as he shook things up there. Daniel Georgievski was dropped after playing in the prior matches, while Leonard Zhuta was summoned from the Swedish league. Also, Ezgjan Alioski will be available at that position.

There are several new names on the list such as central defender Vladimir Dimitrovski, goalkeepers Filip Gachevski and Stole Dimitrievski, and left back Leonard Zhuta.

One player who is not on the list is Uroš Matić. He has still not received clearance from FIFA.

Overall, the first squad for Drulović is fine. You can’t have too many objections. A case can be made that Ostoja Stjepanovikj and Stefan Spirovski don’t deserve a spot, but defensive midfield is very thin. Ostoja is currently a bench player in Poland (hasn’t seen much action at all), while Spirovski has never been convincing anywhere he’s been. There’s also Vanche Shikov who has a difficult club situation on his hands. Other surprises are Kire Ristevski and Aleksandar Todorovski.

Adis Jahovikj was hoping to be back on the team, but he was once again excluded. Both him and Georgievski, the players who got into a dust-up before the first Slovakia meeting this past November, were dropped by Drulović.

It was previously announced that no U21 players would be called up for this Slovakia clash since the youth side is beginning new qualifications next month.

This roster also sees a number of returnees to the team. Guys that fell out of favor with Boshko Gjurovski, but were brought back by Drulović include Daniel Mojsov, Aleksandar Todorovski, Ezgjan Alioski, Stefan Spirovski, Muarem Muarem, Jovan Kostovski and Mirko Ivanovski.

Yesterday, Slovak manager Ján Kozák announced his squad which you can view by clicking here.

Complete squad:

Tome Pachovski – Vardar Macedonia
Filip Gachevski – Bregalnica Macedonia
Stole Dimitrievski – Granada Spain

Vanche Shikov – Austria Wien Austria
Vladimir Dimitrovski – Kerkyra Greece
Daniel Mojsov – Lierse Belgium
Aleksandar Todorovski – Zagłębie Poland
Kire Ristevski – Tirana Albania
Stefan Ristovski – Latina Italy
Ezgjan Alioski – Schaffhausen Switzerland
Leonard Zhuta – Häcken Sweden

Arijan Ademi – Dinamo Croatia
Stefan Spirovski – Vardar Macedonia
Ostoja Stjepanovikj – Wisła Poland
Dushko Trajchevski – Rabotnichki Macedonia
Aleksandar Trajkovski – Zulte Waregem Belgium
Besart Abdurahimi – Lokeren Belgium
Ferhan Hasani – Brøndby Denmark
Muarem Muarem – Qarabağ Azerbaijan
Agim Ibraimi – Maribor Slovenia

Mirko Ivanovski – Videoton Hungary
Krste Velkoski – Sarajevo Bosnia and Herzegovina
Jovan Kostovski – Leuven Belgium

Macedonia will face Slovakia on June 14 at the “pod Dubňom” stadium in Žilina. The game will kick-off at 20.45 CET.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *