Macedonia; photo:

Toshack announced squad for Lithuania friendly

Macedonia; photo: John Toshack has summoned 23 players to the Macedonian squad for the upcoming friendly against Lithuania on 15 August.

The friendly against Lithuania will be the last game for Macedonia before the start of the 2014 World Cup qualifications in September.  Toshack did not include any new names on the list as all 23 players have been capped at least once by the senior national team at some point.  The squad, however, does feature some returning players such as Veliche Shumulikoski, Mirko Ivanovski, Aleksandar Todorovski, Kristijan Naumovski and Aleksandar Trajkovski.  There are no domestic based players included in the squad.

In a given friendly, only 18 players can suit up for a respective national team so that means five of the called up players will not get a chance to feature for Macedonia in the friendly against Lithuania.  The match will be played at the National arena Philip II of Macedon with kick-off scheduled for 20:30 CET.

John Toshack gave the following statement to FFM’s official website, “After the conclusion of the two friendlies this past May, of which I was satisfied, this friendly against Lithuania is our next and also last test before the start of the 2014 World Cup qualifications in September, where we have two interesting matches against Croatia and Scotland.  Since this is a friendly and our last test, I decided to call up 20 players and 3 goalkeepers because I want in this last meeting before the qualifications to see as many players and also allow the federation to secure visas for them, especially for the trip to Scotland where the visa procedures are somewhat complicated.”

Here is the Macedonian squad for the friendly against Lithuania:

Martin Bogatinov – Karpaty, Ukraine
Tome Pachovski – Mechelen, Belgium
Kristijan Naumovski – Dinamo Bucureşti, Romania

Stefan Ristovski – Bari, Italy
Daniel Georgievski – Steaua Bucureşti, Romania
Aleksandar Todorovski – Polonia Warszawa, Poland
Nikolche Noveski – Mainz 05, Germany
Vanche Shikov – Volyn, Ukraine
Boban Grncharov – Botev Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Daniel Mojsov – Vojvodina, Serbia
Goran Popov – Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine
Yani Urdinov – Ekranas, Lithuania

Veliche Shumulikoski – Tianjin Teda, China
Muhamed Demiri – Thun, Switzerland
Nikola Gligorov – Alki, Cyprus
Agim Ibraimi – Maribor, Slovenia
Stefan Spirovski – Borac Čačak, Serbia

Goran Pandev – Napoli, Italy
Ivan Trichkovski – Club Brugge, Belgium
Samir Fazli – Heerenveen, Netherlands
Mirko Ivanovski – Astra Ploiești, Romania
Ferhan Hasani – Wolfsburg, Germany
Aleksandar Trajkovski – Zulte Waregem, Belgium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *