Introduction to the Macedonian First League

Macedonian First League – Makedonska Prva Liga

Macedonian Football Federation

Football Federation:
President: Haralampie Hadzi-Risteski
General Secretary: Lazar Mitrovski
Head coach: Srecko Katanec
Founded: 1948
UEFA Affiliation: 1994
FIFA Affiliation: 1994
Stadium: Gradski stadium – Skopje (25.000)
Makedonska Prva Liga

The competition is currently contested by 12 clubs, playing each other 3 times over 33 rounds. First placed team(the champion) will play in the qualification for the Champions League. Second placed team will play in the qualification for the UEFA Cup. Third placed (and maybe forth placed team too) will play in the INTERTOTO Cup. The winner of the Cup also goes in the qualification for the UEFA Cup.
11th and 12th placed teams will be directly relegated and 9th and 10th placed teams will play in the relegation playoff against 3rd and 4th placed teams in the second league.

Champions of Macedonia
1992/93 (first championship) Vardar – champion without lost match, 27 wins and 7 draws
1993/94 Vardar
1994/95 Vardar
1995/96 Sileks
1996/97 Sileks
1997/98 Sileks
1998/99 Sloga J.
1999/00 Sloga J.
2000/01 Sloga J.
2001/02 Vardar
2002/03 Vardar
2003/04 Pobeda
2004/05 Rabotnicki Kometal
2005/06 Rabotnicki Kometal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *