Rockdale City Suns 6th time Maso Cup champions! (Photo)

The Suns from Rockdale have won the 2019 Maso Cup after defeating Altona Magic in the grand final to claim their sixth title as they dominate this traditional tournament for years.

photo by Queanbeyan City FC: team photo of the winners with the trophy


The four trophy candidates (Altona, Rockdale, Broadmeadow and Preston) eliminated their quarter-final opponents to make two very interesting semifinal clashes. At this round the fans probably saw the goal of the tournament when Alex Tanevski with a bicycle kick gave Preston the win over Bankstown.

The first semifinal featuring Altona Magic and holders Broadmeadow Magic saw the winner being reached through extra time. In the regular time the match saw three expulsion with one being for Altona and two for Broadmeadow. Altona managed to score a winner in the extra time and reach the final.

Another two firm favorites faced each other in the second semifinal. Rockdale City Suns took on Preston Lions and celebrated thanks to the goals scored by Jonathan Grozdanovski and Pani Nikas. Another unsuccessful Maso Cup for the Lions who despite being the most famous Macedonia-Australian club have never won this trophy.

In the final the spectators saw a great football by the players of Altona and Rockdale. Altona, two times winners were looking for the first trophy since 2014, while Rockdale had an eye on their record sixth title. With the goals by Josh Da Silva and Pani Nikas the Suns took a comfortable lead before Altona pulled one back, but it was too late.

Moment of Rockdale v Wollongong; photo: Wollongong United FC


Altona Magic – Queanbeyan City 3:0
Rockdale City Suns – Wollongong United 1:0
Broadmeadow Magic – Geelong 3:1
Preston Lions – Bankstown City 2:1


Altona Magic – Broadmeadow Magic 1:0 AET
Rockdale City Suns – Preston Lions 2:0


Altona Magic – Rockdale City Suns 1:2

Hall of fame:
2019 Rockdale City Suns (VI)
2018 Broadmeadow Magic (I)
2017 Rockdale City Suns (V)
2016 Rockdale City Suns (IV)
2015 Rockdale City Suns (III)
2014 Altona Magic (II)
2013 Rockdale City Suns (II)
2012 Bankstown City Lions (I)
2011 Rockdale City Suns (I)
2010 not held
2009 Arncliffe Scots (I)
2008 Altona Magic (I)

In the other competitions victorious were Bankstown City (women’s), Yagoona Lions (Over 35) and Rockdale City Suns (U20).

Women’s final: Wolongong United – Bankstown City 2:2 (1:3 p.s.o.)
Over 35 final: Yagoona Lions – Bankstown City 4:0
U20 final: Altona Magic – Rockdale City Suns 0:1

The girls of Bankstown City celebrate with the trophy; photo: Queanbeyan City FC

The U20 winners Rockdale City Suns; photo: Queanbeyan City FC

Over 35 winners Yagoona Lions; photo: Queanbeyan City FC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *