Goran Popov won the Dutch Cup

The Hearts celebrate their first trophy Goran Popov and his SC Heerenveen won the KNVB Beker after they defeated FC Twente with 5:4 on penalties. The 90 minutes ended 1:1, with Popov opening the score in the 27th minute. Another two goals were scored in the extra time for a final result of 2:2. Popov’s team mates were luckier in the penalty shoot out. The Macedonian national team plater will be remembered as a part of Heerenveen’s golden generation who brought the first trophy to the Abe Lenstra Stadium in the history of the club.


Stadion De Kuip in Rotterdam
Jan Wegereef



SC Heerenveen – FC Twente 2:2 (5:4 on penalties)


1:0 Popov 27′
1:1 Elia 55′
2:1 Kalou 112′
2:2 Hersi 118′


sc Heerenveen: Hans Vonk; Michel Breuer, Kristian Bak Nielsen, Michael Dingsdag, Goran Popov; Michal Svec (78′ Geert Arend Roorda), Christian Grindheim (74′ Bonaventure Kalou), Viktor Elm; Roy Beerens (87′ Paulo Henrique), Gerald Sibon, Danijel Pranjić.


FC Twente: Sander Boschker, Douglas, Peter Wisgerhof (17′ Ronnie Stam), Slobodan Rajković, Edson Braafheid; Cheick Tioté, Kenneth Perez (84′ Youssouf Hersi), Theo Janssen; Marko Arnautović (12′ Romano Denneboom), Blaise N’Kufo, Eljero Elia.

Yellow cards: Svec 20′, Sibon 44′, Popov 45′, Roorda 90′, Janssen 52′, Elia 101′.


Celebration (Popov no.20)

400 300]


 KNVB Cup 2009 winners - Heerenveen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *