Dutch squad for upcoming qualifier

 Dutch coach Bert van Marwijk has announced the 25-men-squad for the following qualifying matches for Netherlands. Macedonia will meet Netherlands on 1st of April at 20.45 CET on Amsterdam ArenA as part of the 9th qualification group for WC 2010.

Bert van Marwijk has surely attractive names in his team and the role of favorites belongs to the home team. Nevertheless, Macedonia once managed to pull out a scoreless draw against Netherlands as visitors. Here's the list of players who will have the chance to play against Macedonia on 1st of April and Scotland on 28th of March.


Goalkeepers: Henk Timmer (Feyenoord), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Michel Vorm (FC Utrecht)

Defenders: Khalid Boulahrouz (VfB Stuttgart), Edson Braafheid (FC Twente), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Dirk Marcellis (PSV), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburger SV), John Heitinga (Atlético Madrid), André Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax)

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (PSV), Demy de Zeeuw (AZ), Mark van Bommel (Bayern München), Orlando Engelaar (FC Schalke 04), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Stijn Schaars (AZ), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid), Rafael van der Vaart (Real Madrid)

Attackers: Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Real Madrid), Dirk Kuijt (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Real Madrid), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic).

In the previous encounters between these two teams, Macedonia has 1 defeat (during this qualifications tournament at home) and 2 draws (during the WC 2006 qualifications tournament).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *