Broadmeadow Magic claims Maso Cup first title

Winner of the 10th edition of the Maso Cup is Broadmeadow Magic who defeated holders Rockdale City Suns in a thriller final thus managing to end their domination that lasted for three years.

The boys from Newcastle won their first ever Maso Cup title. After winning the Group 2 with two wins and a defeat by hosts Altona Magic, they eliminated Sydenham Park in the quarter-finals before taking on giants Preston Lions in the semis. A 2:0 win secured them a final clash with who else but the overall best Maso Cup team, the Rockdale City Suns.


The Suns have been dominating the tournament winning it in the last three years and since 2011 they failed to win it only on two occasions. This year their appetites were the same as always, showing it by reaching the final without a defeat, only a goalless draw against Cringila Lions in the group stage.

Joint photo of Rockdale City Suns and Broadmeadow Magic before the final; photo by Rockdale City Suns FC

But the final shocked them. Broadmeadow Magic made a stunning start as after only 15 minutes with a 3:0 lead almost secured the title. The Suns got back in game scoring two goals, but at the end the Newcastle boys well defended the 3:2 lead and went jubilant after the final whistle. The final was played under around 40 degree heat in Melbourne.

The Lionesses of Preston celebrate with the trophy; photo by Preston Lions FC

The Women’s edition was won by the Preston Lionesses who beat Altona Magic with 4:1. Altona Magic managed to grab a trophy as their team beat Bankstown City with 2:0 in the Reserves/U20s category.


Rockdale City Suns – Lalor United Sloga 6:1
Wollongong United – Preston Lions 1:2
Broadmeadow Magic – Sydenham Park
Bankstown City – Altona Magic 0:2


Rockdale City Suns – Altona Magic 2:0
Preston Lions – Broadmeadow Magic 0:2


Rockdale City Suns – Broadmeadow Magic 2:3


Hall of fame:
2018 Broadmeadow Magic
2017 Rockdale City Suns
2016 Rockdale City Suns
2015 Rockdale City Suns
2014 Altona Magic
2013 Rockdale City Suns
2012 Bankstown City
2011 Rockdale City Suns
2010 not held
2009 Arncliffe Scots
2008 Altona Magic

5 – Rockdale City Suns
2 – Altona Magic
1 – Arncliffe Scots, Bankstown City, Broadmeadow Magic

main photo by Sydenham Park SC: the players of Broadmeadow Magic celebrate with the trophy

One Comments

  1. Why not just call it the Macedonian Cup!?

Leave a Reply to Sale Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *